Reviews

Why I Love Fruits Basket

Apparently the most popular post on my blog is “Yuki x Machi: An (Over)analysis.”

Most readers disagree with my analysis, I am sure, though there has always been a minority of Yukiru shippers who have the same opinion as I do. There are others out there who think the “mother figure” twist seems odd, and that Kyoru has some signs of an abusive relationship. This is all I can see, no matter how I try.

Plot wise, Kyoru makes sense in order to break the curse so that everyone can live happily ever after, but Yukiru has more chemistry. If the author must go with Kyoru, though, then Yuchi would be more realistic as a temporary rebound rather than Yuki’s true love. Their relationship seems more platonic than Yukiru, though Yuki claims otherwise.

In any case, FB is the only manga that is still dear to my heart after making a profound impression on me as a child. Beneath the cutesy exterior is a story that handles heavy themes such as child abuse, loneliness, and unrequited love. Other manga lost their appeal when I grew up, even if they have better artwork, because they lack the depth that FB has.

FB reminds me of what is truly important in life…namely empathy, kindness, and love. These are God’s core values, though I must confess that I lose touch with them from time to time. FB also reminds me that relationships are more important than any other pursuit.

Comment